2 CU Buffs land on Pac-12 football preseason all-conference first team – The Denver Post

A pair of Colorado defensive stars landed on the 2020 preseason Pac-12 all-conference first team.

Defensive lineman Mustafa Johnson and linebacker Nate Landman, both seniors, on Thursday were selected based on votes by members of the media who cover the conference. They were the only Buffaloes players to land on either the first or second teams.

Johnson recorded 24 tackles (four for a loss) and four sacks in eight games last season. He suffered an ankle injury that sidelined him for three games. He was named to the All-Pac-12 first team by the Associated Press in 2018.

Landman has been the recipient of the team’s Dave Jones Award for outstanding defensive player the last two years. He was an All-Pac-12 first-team selection by AP and conference coaches in 2019 and a second-team choice by coaches in 2018. He recorded 97 tackles (six for a loss) and two sacks last year.

CU players who received honorable mentions include running back Alex Fontenot, wide receiver K.D. Nixon and offensive lineman Will Sherman.

Washington State running back Max Borghi, who starred at Pomona High School in Arvada, was the only player to land on the first team twice — as a running back and an all-purpose player.

Colorado opens its season Saturday, hosting UCLA at 5 p.m.

Here’s a look at the full list:

First team

  • QB Kedon Slovis, USC
  • RB CJ Verdell, Oregon
  • RB Max Borghi, Washington State
  • WR Amon-Ra St. Brown, USC
  • WR Tyler Vaughns, USC
  • TE Brant Kuithe, Utah
  • C Drew Dalman, Stanford
  • OL Alijah Vera-Tucker, USC
  • OL Abe Lucas, Washington State
  • OL Jaxson Kirkland, Washington
  • OL Nick Ford, Utah
  • DL Kayvon Thibodeaux, Oregon
  • DL Mustafa Johnson, Colorado
  • DL Jordon Scott, Oregon
  • DL Jermayne Lole, Arizona State
  • LB Hamilcar Rashed Jr., Oregon State
  • LB Nate Landman, Colorado
  • LB Drake Jackson, USC
  • DB Elijah Molden, Washington
  • DB Camryn Bynum, California
  • DB Talanoa Hufanga, USC
  • DB Deommodore Lenoir, Oregon
  • PK Blake Mazza, Washington State
  • P Michael Turk, Arizona State
  • AP Max Borghi, Washington State

Second team

  • QB Jayden Daniels, Arizona State
  • RB Jermar Jefferson, Oregon State
  • RB Christopher Brown Jr., California
  • WR Frank Darby, Arizona State
  • WR Johnny Johnson III, Oregon
  • TE Cade Otton, Washington
  • C Orlando Umana, Utah
  • OL Jake Curhan, California
  • OL Dohnovan West, Arizona State
  • OL Foster Sarell, Stanford
  • OL Simi Moala, Utah
  • DL Mike Tafua, Utah
  • DL Thomas Booker, Stanford
  • DL Osa Odighizuwa, UCLA
  • DL Brett Johnson, California
  • LB Kuony Deng, California
  • LB Jahad Woods, Washington State
  • LB Ryan Bowman, Washington
  • DB Jack Jones, Arizona State
  • DB Elijah Hicks, California
  • DB Mykael Wright, Oregon
  • DB Aashari Crosswell, Arizona State
  • PK Peyton Henry, Washington
  • P Ben Griffiths, USC
  • AP Demetric Felton, UCLA & Britain Covey, Utah (tie)

Honorable mentions

Running back: Alex Fontenot, Colorado

Wide receiver: K.D. Nixon, Colorado; Britain Covey, Utah

Center: Michael Saffell, California; Luke Wattenberg, Washington State

Offensive line: Donovan Laie, Arizona; Will Sherman, Colorado; Brandon Kipper, Oregon State; Sean Rhyan, UCLA; Josh Watson, Washington State

Defensive line: Zeandae Johnson, California; Brandon Pili, USC; Marlon Tuipulotu, USC; Viane Moala, Utah

Linebacker: Merlin Robertson, Arizona State; Cameron Goode, California; Isaac Slade-Matautia, Oregon; Devin Lloyd, Utah

Defensive back: Lorenzo Burns, Arizona; Chase Lucas, Arizona State; Olaijah Griffin, USC; Isaiah Pola-Mao, USC; Trent McDuffie, Washington

Place kicker: Cristian Zendejas, Arizona State; Jet Toner, Stanford

Punter: Oscar Draguicevich III, Washington State

All-purpose: Mykael Wright, Oregon; Travell Harris, Washington State

Source: Read Full Article